131 N. Main Street
Culpeper Virginia 22701
(540) 727-3412 (Phone)
(540) 727-2802 (Fax)

Monday to Friday, 8:00a-4:30p
(Except Holidays)
Closed Saturday & Sunday



Office Phone: 540-727-3412 

Andrew Hardy - Director  - Office phone + extension 7

Joe Koontz - Parks Superintendent  -  cell 540-718-1706

Tabitha Riley - Programs & Facilities Supervisor  -  Office phone + extension 5; 

Samantha Whitesides - Activity Attendant - Office phone + extension 4

Vacant  - Administrative Specialist IV/Office Manager  - Office phone + extension 4




Department Mission


The Department of Parks and Recreation is dedicated to the enhancement of the quality of life, assuring the sense of community, and providing leisure services to county citizens of all ages. The Department shall establish and maintain the highest level of professional standards and continuity of services for the development of parks, recreational facilities, and programs. The Department shall also endeavor to preserve cultural, historical, and environmental resources. By providing effective leadership and planning, the Department shall create partnerships with citizens, other governmental entities, and private organizations, to accomplish mutually desired goals and objectives. (Established from Culpeper County Facility Plan 2000)

Culpeper County Parks & Recreation Analysis 2017

Advisory Committee Mission


The Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee serves as the advisory body to the Culpeper County Board of Supervisors and liaison between the Board and the citizens.  Makes recommendations and advises the Parks and Recreation Director in matters affecting recreation policies, programs, personnel, finances, and the acquisition and disposal of lands and properties related to the total community recreation program, and to its long-range, projected program for recreation.


The Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee meets the third Tuesday of each month at the Board of Supervisors Conference Room located at 302 North Main Street at 7:00 p.m.  The public is encouraged to attend.  Each member is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serves a three-year term.

Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee Members


Joseph White, Chairperson   Keith Harris, Vice-Chairperson
(540) 623-3462   (540) 399-1107
Catalpa District   Stevensburg District
Alan Anstine    Matthew T. Eastham
(540) 727-0247   (540) 229-9939
Cedar Mountain District   Jefferson District 
Cindy LaFontaine   Bryan Millea
(540) 229-9089   (301) 325-2401
East Fairfax District   West Fairfax District
Dale Riggs    
(540) 497-1695    
Salem District    
Dr. Russell Houck   Gary Deal
Ex-Officio Member   Ex-Officio Member
CCPS Representative   West Fairfax Board of Supervisor

Board of Supervisors Agendas and Minutes Adopted Budget Pay Taxes Request for Public Records (FOIA)

Phone: (540) 727-3427